Solvang, CA

This past weekend I took a trip to Solvang, CA. alongside my relatives and parents. There’s something special, even nostalgic, about exploring a new place with your family (I’m feeling a tad bit old). Trips like these make me remember my toddler days spent adventuring with relatives. The weather was perfect, the company was great, and the town was beyond cute.

A crowded shopping area in Downtown Solvang.

Solvang’s welcome sign.

Solvang, which means sunny field in Danish, was founded in 1911. The city’s Danish roots are apparent in the architecture and bakeries (most specializing in Danish pastries, which I sadly didn’t get to try!). Although it is an old town, the city has modernized itself with hip restaurants, cafes, and wine tasting. Just walking around the downtown area was fun in itself (I’m an observer at heart).

Soaking up some sun outside of a cafe in Downtown Solvang.

Downtown Solvang shops.

With the hot weather that weekend, I threw on my black Loft dress which kept me cool and semi-sweat free. What I really love about this dress is the cut of the neckline. It’s flattering, timeless, and shows just enough skin. I’m not a big fan of strapless bras, so my alternative: a sticky bra (I bought mine from Target). I have seriously worn this sticky bra almost every day this summer.

A convenient alternative to a purse: Aritzia’s bucket backpack.

Since my outfit lacked color, I decided to slip into my lace up flats. I’ve seen lace up flats everywhere and I must admit they are a great addition to any wardrobe. I bought my red lace up flats from Topshop. Even though these shoes are the cutest, they’ve been giving me a ton of blisters on the back of my heel (if only cute shoes were always comfortable).

Red lace up flats.

Sincerely,

Jeline

3 thoughts on “Solvang, CA

Leave a Reply

