Black, Like My Dress

1

A little black dress is the most timeless piece you can have in your wardrobe (I happen to have about five now). My collection of this simple, sophisticated yet edgy piece continues to grow and invade the small amount of color I have left in my wardrobe.

2

You can never have too many black dresses since they can vary in style, fabric and fit. This Banana Republic dress happens to be one of my favorites (although I say that to each and every piece I have in my closet). The black dress is a rendition of a shirtdress, however it diverts from others with its chiffon overlay and sheer sleeves.

IMG_5585

IMG_5584

I accented my little black dress with a pair of strappy, thick heels from Urban Outfitters, my mom’s vintage Emanuel Ungaro bag (which I “borrowed” for eternity), and an Anne Klein rose gold watch that I wear with almost every outfit.

IMG_5583

Metaphorically speaking, I feel as if “color” is getting difficult for me (in terms of positivity, creativity, unicorns and all things happy). This sudden dip in my life may be another challenge or trial to push me to be better or to do better. As my mom says, “Life isn’t always a bed of roses, Jeline.” If only I was as emotionless as the color black (if colors even had emotions).

 

Sincerely,

Jeline

Leave a Reply

